Tooele County School District

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Special Education Families » Special Education Services

Special Education Services

 
 
435-833-1994
 
Special Education Director -- Mat Jackson, mjackson@tooeleschools.org 
 
Special Education Assistant Director -- Tamsen Andrus, tandrus@tooeleschools.org
 
Special Education Coordinator -- Michale Berryhill, mberryhill@tooeleschools.org
 
Special Education Coordinator -- Sheryl Lundwall, slundwall@tooeleschools.org
 
Related Services Coordinator -- Mikalene Anderson, mianderson@tooeleschools.org
 
Transition Specialist -- Kristen Linares, klinares@tooeleschools.org
 
Specialist Assistant -- Shauna Turnbow, sturnbow@tooeleschools.org
 
 
School Psychologists: 
Nolla Bayly -- nbayly@tooeleschools.org
David Canaday -- dcanaday@tooeleschools.org
Shelly Dewitt -- sdewitt@tooeleschools.org
Katelyn McChesney -- mmcchesney@tooeleschools.org
Gina Meredith -- gmeredith@tooeleschools.org
Brian Mullin -- bmullin@tooeleschools.org
Cecile Ropelis -- cmropelis@tooeleschools.org
 
Behavior Specialists: 
Betsy Henninger -- bhenninger@tooeleschools.org
Kristine Naylor -- knaylor@tooeleschools.org
 

Services for Students with Disabilities

 

Tooele County School District offers a full range of educational services for students with disabilities who live within Tooele County boundaries. This includes children (birth through 21 years of age) who are in public schools, private schools, are being home schooled, are preschoolers (birth to five years) and are in need of an evaluation for possible special education or early intervention services, regardless of the severity of the disabilityEarly identification and intervention may be essential to your child’s development.

 

Young children, ages three-to-five, with severe delays in language, motor, cognitive, or adaptive development can receive a free and appropriate education in our preschool program.

 

Services, which include assessment, instruction, and evaluation, are also provided for students who qualify under federal and state guidelines, ages five to twenty-two (and have not graduated from high school). 

 

A student whose disability does not need specialized instruction to benefit from education but could appropriately utilize specific interventions could possibly qualify for accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act, Section 504. These services are provided in all our district schools and are available for anyone who resides within our district boundaries.

 

If your child is having significant difficulty with vision, hearing, speech, behavior, is experiencing slow development typical for his/her age, physical development or learning difficulty, he/she may be a child with a disability that requires specialized instruction through special education.

 

If you suspect that your school age child may have a disability, please contact your neighborhood school principal or special education department at 435-833-1900.

 

If your child’s age is birth to three years or three to five years, contact the Early Learning Center at 435-833-1966.

 

The collection and use of data to meet the requirements of this section are subject to the confidentiality of information provisions under the Utah State Board of Education Special Education Rules.